Posted in The Journey Begins

So Here’s an Interesting Story…

“I know you’re freaking out, but this is what they are telling me,” he said.

(“He” being an intuitive medium and “they” being whoever was trying to give me a message from the “other side”.)

It was March of 2015, and I had just been made aware that I was going to back to classroom teaching. I must tell you, readers, this piece of information was not something I wanted to hear. At that time I was pursuing some other things (which he implied weren’t going to work out), so getting back into the classroom was NOT on my radar.

I couldn’t even fathom going back there. No thanks.

“You need to look into an alternative school or a hands-on school. Montessori. I don’t know what that is, but that is what they are saying.” I had heard that word before, but I didn’t know what it was either.

So, nope. Next.

Since he knew that wasn’t what I wanted to hear, I assumed he understood my past experience:

Many moons ago, I was a Middle School teacher. During my 9-year tenure, I came to feel that a traditional approach was not the best choice for students and their learning. As a result, I made a commitment to teach outside of the box and used differential instruction methods. These allowed students to choose work that fits their learning style and work at their own pace. I was a guide in their education and they really enjoyed the freedom of the experience. Even though I was doing some innovative teaching, I felt ineffective for many reasons. No one wants to live their life feeling like that. It wears on you.

To be nicey-nice, I’d say that I left to pursue other opportunities, but to be real, I just couldn’t do it anymore. It’s no secret that teachers leave every year for that reason, so to be authentic, I am not going to pretend my story was something different. It’s sad to admit this because no one wants to give up on kids. And while many just try to keep going, I couldn’t bring myself to participate in it anymore.

So I left and worked in a different field for a number of years afterward. While I learned so many valuable things from it, something was still missing for me, namely teaching. After a few years, I entered a yoga teacher-training program and became a yoga instructor. Through that avenue, I became a part of a non-profit that brings yoga into schools to help create mindfulness, as well as, build character and self-esteem. I realized I missed working with kids, but it wasn’t a reason for me to get back to teaching school.

So in March of last year, when this intuitive told me I was going to be back in the classroom, I took it in, but ultimately thought he was wrong. Not too long after, I discovered the things I had been pursuing were not working for me anymore and I found myself needing to look for a job. If you have been through the job search in recent years, you know that the process has majorly changed (not in a good way) and it is extremely frustrating. I applied to everything I could think of and it amounted to a big fat NOTHING. It started to occur to me that I was looking in all the wrong places and maybe I was truly supposed to go back to the classroom. I started to think about that seed that was planted by the intuitive.

One day, on Craigslist, a place where I was led to believe I would never find a job, I came across a position for Teaching Assistant at a Montessori School. A couple days later, I interviewed and got the job. It all happened very quickly and I couldn’t believe it.

So there I was, working at a Montessori School. What are the chances? I can’t make this stuff up! I shouldn’t be surprised because these are the types of things that happen to me.

While it was an adjustment for me to be working with small children, once I started to get the hang of it, I could actually step back and observe what was going on. I can’t even summarize it for you here, but let’s just say it was amazing! I had never seen anything like it. I knew I had found the right place and within a few months, there was no doubt in my mind I’d be taking the Training.

So, here I am.

I am currently attending the 3 Summer Primary Training. I have to take a “moment”, though,  because in March of last year I would have never imagined that I’d be here, planting this seedling, surrounded by Montessori Awesomeness.

I can’t wait to see what it will look like in 2 years when I graduate!

IMG_4753

 

 

 

 

One thought on “So Here’s an Interesting Story…

Leave a Reply

